The Canary Islands are situated just off the west coast of Africa in the Atlantic Ocean and are part of Spain. They are volcanic and are made up of six islands; Tenerife, Gran Canaria, Fuerteventura, La Palma, Lanzarote, La Gomera, El Hierro. The islands have a mild climate throughout the year, with warm winds and ocean waters thanks to the Gulf stream. The official language is Spanish and the currency is the euro.


The original inhabitants of the Canary Islands came from the Maghrib, the area spanning from present-day Tunisia to Morocco called the Gaunches, who spoke many different languages from one island to another, who lived from farming and agriculture. There were European Invasions in the 14th century, beginning with the French in 1402, then in 1479 Spanish control of the Canaries commenced under the Treaty of Alcáçovas. Today the Canaries remain part of Spain and have become a very popular destination for all types of traveller. Besides the fantastic beaches, The Canary Islands offer good food, beautiful nature, relaxation and fun. There are many local festivals, but the best is the annual Carnival held in February, it's well worth visiting at this time to experience this colourful street party full of live music and food! 

Travel guides and tips: CANARY ISLANDS

Discover how to reach and what to do in Canary Islands: tips, events, local festivals, culture, food and all the other details to explore Canary Islands can be found on our blog!

Tenerife and Gran Canaria are the two most popular Canary Islands, and tourists flock here for the sunshine and warm temperatures all year round. Both islands have unique volcan...
Surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean and characterised by sandy beaches, mountains, nature and waves; the Canary Islands are a paradise. Formally part of Spanish territory, they are...